The Story of Humpty Dumpty – It’s a Lie!

29 Jul

Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall,
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. 
All the king’s horses and all the king’s men 
Couldn’t put Humpty together again.

shutterstock_116842531

We’ve all heard it. Whatever, it’s an old nursery rhyme.

But all too often I have applied this story to my work mistakes – I messed up and it’s going to ruin me. In my three years of post-college work experience, I’ve made a few rather large ones. One or two truly terrified me. I didn’t think the eggshell could be fixed.

I keep coming back to the realization, however, that mistakes are actually a necessary part of growth. One of my favorite quotes is from Tom Kelley, a design genius and founder of one of the most innovative design companies in America. His motto is “fail often so you can succeed sooner.” In other words, you’re going to mess up at some point – get it over with so you can figure out the right way to do things.

How true, yet how difficult.

Unlike Humpty, when we fall and break, we can almost always get glued together again, and it usually it makes us stronger.

Those big mistakes I mentioned? Only one thing saved me. Owning up. I didn’t pass off the blame and I didn’t make excuses. I went to the person immediately, apologized (and meant it) and I asked how I could rectify the situation.

The startling response was that almost everyone thanked me for being honest and gave forgiveness. Of course, I then worked my butt off to make sure the situation was taken care of. In addition, I found that by owning up, I gained a lot of respect and trust from those individuals.

You can’t always grow in your work/career through reading a book or attending a seminar; sometimes you just have to fail. Is it fun? Heck no, mistakes suck. But does it make you a better person? Absolutely.

-Mark Kawiecki

One Response to “The Story of Humpty Dumpty – It’s a Lie!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. About life’s journey | The Matter of Life and Death - September 8, 2013

    […] Humpty Dumpty Tells Us Lies (myprosmidland.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

