Event Recap: Ribbit, Rhythms and Red Shoes

17 Feb

Even though I’ve lived in Midland all my life, the Midland Center for the Arts keeps coming up with ways to surprise me. The MYPros event on February 8, “Ribbit, Rhythms and Red Shoes,” brought together the Center’s museum exhibits and symphony orchestra in an event that drew over 30 people, including several new faces (hi, new folks! Thanks for being there!). Here are what I found to be the three best parts of the event.

Green-Black-Poison-Frog-680x383

One of the killer-but-not-really frogs. (Photo courtesy Midland Center for the Arts)

1)   We got cultured. People who aren’t very familiar with Midland sometimes say there aren’t any cultural opportunities here. To which I’d reply: In a couple hours, we saw frogs from around the world, we saw the work of local artists who have been recognized nationally, and we saw the symphony play music spanning almost a century. Then we all got in our cars and drove five to ten minutes and were home. It’s hard to beat that.

2)   We learned a few things. I didn’t realize there were frogs the size of my thumb that were poisonous enough to kill me (and though I subsequently learned the frogs at the exhibit aren’t as venomous as their wild cousins, I still whimpered). I didn’t know Shostakovich, one of the composers on the symphony program, slept with a packed suitcase under his bed in case the KGB came for him during the night (Stalin didn’t like him much). I wasn’t planning to engage my brain this particular evening, but it happened in spite of my best efforts.

And perhaps most importantly…

Orchestra2_980x551-680x383

The Midland Symphony Orchestra in action. (Photo courtesy Midland Center for the Arts)

3)   We were all there together. Going to any concert, let alone a classical concert, is intimidating when you’re by yourself. The best part of MYPros is having a reason to go to the places you want to visit. I heard several comments from people who “kept meaning to check out the symphony” but, let’s face it, didn’t want to go alone.

So if you want a reason to discover some of the hidden gems of Midland, then keep watching this page for events and updates. And if you were there on February 8, comment below and let us know what you thought!

Leave a Reply

