Welcome to Your “Quarter Life Crisis”

18 Feb

Image

So, this year on October 1st I turn the BIG 3-0! Yikes! I have never really been someone that puts much thought into age, nor have I ever thought, that I have ever acted my age (Blink-182’s  “What’s My Age Again?” song comes to mind as I typed that). But for some reason the thought the turning 30 actually kind of scares me. As many of you, I was rushing to turn 21 because that’s when the real fun started, right? And I must say that my 20’s really have been full of fun and lessons. But wow, is life different now in my 29th year of life than it was when I first turned 20. In the past decade I have graduated from college, moved to Virginia, Mississippi, Traverse City and Midland. I have gotten married, had several jobs, adopted a cat & dog (or two), bought a house, learned about the joys of home ownership and have found my dream job! Yes, really I love my job, and no I am not just typing that because I know my boss will be reading this article :).

Image

Now that I am barreling towards my 30’s I know life still has many more surprises, challenges, excitement and decisions ahead; and that I am going to need to call upon those around me to help me out from time to time. One of the best things about working at the Chamber, or as a member attending Chamber events, is that you get to know a plethora of people in a variety of vocations. So when I have a question about something, or need help, I usually know someone that I can call upon personally to help me out. Now I know that not everyone has the luxury of getting out of the office as much as they would like to attend events and meet new people. So that is why the MYPros Communication Committee has come up with a new featured segment we endearingly call “Quarter Life Crisis.” As we have our meetings each month we have come to realize that our age group is at a pivotal point in our lives, and that this is probably a point in many of our lives when there are more things changing and happening than ever! We are getting married, paying off student loans, buying cars & houses, paying property taxes for the first time, starting families, thinking about our children’s future and how to pay for their college and so much more! So with the help of our fellow Chamber member young professionals we will have advice relevant to young professionals from attorneys, accountants, realtors, lenders, insurance agents, financial advisors and more. We will also be sharing some of our own personal stories as we learn all about becoming an adult. I am still not sure I am ready to be an “adult;” I just don’t feel it’s for me! Anyway, I hope that you find this new segment informative, enjoyable and entertaining. Stay tuned for next week, we will have some great tax advice for YP’s just in time for tax season!

If there’s anything you would like to see featured in our “Quarter Life Crisis” segment, comment below and we will do our best to get questions answered and information out that is relevant to you and other YP’s.

Image

One Response to “Welcome to Your “Quarter Life Crisis””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taxes…I Never Know What I am Doing | Midland Young Professionals - March 4, 2014

    […] a few weeks ago the concept of our Quarter Life Crisis series. In case you missed it you can click here to check it out, or if you just want to read it over and over again because let’s be honest, […]

Leave a Reply

